Blog for mental health 2013

I pledge my commitment to the Blog For Mental Health 2013 Project.  I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others.  By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health.  I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.

Image

This is my link in the campaign chain I discovered on the  Canvas of the Minds blog. Lulu, who started the campaign, asks us all to do these things:

1.) Take the pledge by copying and pasting the following into a post featuring “Blog for Mental Health 2013″.

I pledge my commitment to the Blog For Mental Health 2013 Project.  I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others.  By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health.  I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.

2.) Link back to the person who pledged you.

You can consider this an open pledge, so feel free to link to SecretSchizoidSpeaks and this post!

3.) Write a short biography of your mental health, and what this means to you.

This is me: After a bunch of family bereavements in short order, I had something of a melt-down AND the menopause; as a consequence the schizoid personality disorder, that had been bubbling under my frantic disguise of normality, surfaced. I’m now finding it hard to break out of a bubble that’s keeping me safe from pain and rejection… and driving me into debt and the crazycatlady universe because I really struggle to make a living these days. I’ve never been on any psych medication and am reluctant to give into the drugs route, but am reaching the point of no return. I need to break out of the bubble because a) I loathe being in debt, b) I loathe houses that smell of cat, c) I don’t want to be any crazier than is entertaining and d) I like my work and want to do it.

4.) Pledge five others, and be sure to let them know!

I am new to the world of mental health blogging, and I’m not sure about the use of the verb ‘pledge’ in this context, but I think it requires me to give you links to five (or more) interesting, inspiring, searingly honest, poignant blogs that I know about. This in the hope that you’ll all take the pledge too, and pass it all on. Spread the word.

Bipolar Beach

Crystal Delusions

My experiments with sanity

Atrum Animus

Sheeki86

Morbid insanity

Dealing with depression

Center Pull Photography

Seabluedreaming

Adoptingjames

Running for reachout

Regulardaze

2 thoughts on “Blog for mental health 2013

  1. Thank you for taking the pledge, it’s really wonderful to me that I’m discovering all of these new bloggers! I’m very interested to have a look around your site, and I will get to sharing you through all our social media and putting you on our blogroll.

    If any of your readers are more interested in the back story on this campaign, they can find it here: Blog For Mental Health 2013.

    My best to you!

    • Thanks, Ruby T – a pleasure to know you… Your campaign’s a good one; in the UK the government has just thrown a chunk of cash at mental health, recognising the cost to the economy of mental illness, and the loss to the country of our varying skills, energy and experience. The more the merrier, eh?

What do you think?

