Disgraceful, cowardly behaviour

Funerals and grieving are too hard for me as a schizoid personalityMine, that is. I appalled myself last week with a sustained example of cowardice and meanness to my kind next-door neighbour Joan.

Her mother died, peacefully, at home and surrounded by family. I didn’t know her, don’t really know the family that well, but they’re neighbours, and I know how much Joan loved her mum and how much she’d have been affected by the death.

I know all this, but a) I didn’t know what to do, when or how (the family observes a religion I don’t know); b) the schizoid thing kicked in big style and the dread of her weeping on my shoulder was huge; c) I’d had enough of funerals and grief and responsibility to last a lifetime.

So… I stayed away. I didn’t go over when I heard the news; I didn’t send flowers or take a casserole, or any of the things you’re supposed to do for grieving families.

I didn’t try to find out what the religion expects, demands or forbids.

I didn’t go to the funeral. I didn’t even go to the funeral, where I’d have been one of dozens of mourners, even though I knew I’d be missed by Joan and my absence clocked and remarked on by others.

It took me two days to get myself to go next door. I took flowers and food and was met with great kindness and gratitude. She asked why I didn’t go and see the body, or come to the funeral. I lied through my teeth and said in my church (NB I don’t go to any church) death and funerals are private, for the family and close friends only. She said hadn’t I seen all the mourners coming to the house? No, I said, I was in my study at the back of the house (that was true) and saw and heard nothing (almost true).

She accepted the lie.

Maybe other schizoids will understand. I justify it to myself, but I still feel like a shitty louse.

Have you avoided situations that you find difficult? Please say you have…

5 thoughts on “Disgraceful, cowardly behaviour

  1. Pingback: cowardice | thisoldtoad

  2. Sounds you like you pulled of a master-class, rather than tell the simple truth! I know what it’s like to feel you have to hide your weakness, as if no-one will understand. You did well in the end.

    • Thanks, John. This blog is all about trying to be honest about the good and the bad bits of being Schizoid.
      I believe there are FAR more of us than the shrinks think – esp in England – well, Britain – because we’re so socially engineered to make the best of things and not fuss…

      • I think we maybe the unfortunate ones. Anyone who can sneak under the raydar and live a fairly ordinary life is lucky. It does seem that getting a diagnoses is difficult for a lot of people who really need it.
        My Blog is also about truth. I am living this life,so why shouldn’t it be valid? But rather than challenge those around me I am just secretly venting, hoping to gather a few similar souls, because those around me can’t cope, or would over-react to the reality.
        I don’t know if that’s why you started your Blog. Do you have people around you that accept you as you are, your truth?

      • Not really – I’ve got lots of friends who are kind and put up with my, er, eccentricity – at least up to a point. I’ve only told two people, chosen carefully for their wisdom and unflappability, but even they were shocked and took a few mental steps backwards. “Schizoid” is a scary word, and makes us sound like sociopaths – at least that’s how it appears sometimes. I’m about to have a ranting whinge, or a winging rant, as today has been a rare bleak stretch and I’m feeling sorry for myself. You’ve been warned! Thanks again for your thoughtful comment.

What do you think?